Sparks City Council Meeting 8/22/2016 2:00:00 PM

    Monday, August 22, 2016 2:00 PM
    Council Chambers, Legislative Building, 745 Fourth Street, Sparks, NV

General Business: 9.6

Title: Consideration, discussion and possible approval of the Mayor's recommendation of five, 2-year term appointments to the Arts and Culture Advisory Committee for the City of Sparks (from the following pool of applicants listed in alphabetical order: Christina Barr; Kim Ciesynski; Dennyse Daniels; Stephanie Farias; Eileen Gay; Angela Handler; Shari Havelka; Ken Heitzenrader; Jacqueline Lampson; Carlos Martinez; Melissa Melero-Moose; Hans Somey; Andrea Tavener and David Zybert.)
Petitioner/Presenter: Tracy Domingues, Parks and Recreation Director/Francine Burge, Special Events Supervisor
Recommendation: That the Council confirm the Mayor's appointments to the Sparks Arts and Culture Advisory Committee.
Financial Impact: None.
Business Impact (Per NRS 237):
A Business Impact Statement is not required because this is not a rule.
Agenda Item Brief:

Committee appointments.


The Arts and Culture Advisory Committee was established on June 13, 2016 by way of Resolution No. 3296 and will act in a formal structure and offer advice to the Sparks City Council on art and cultural activities in Sparks.  The primary objective of the ACAC will be to provide a plan and guidance for all arts and culturally-related activities on public property or projects utilizing city resources.  Other objectives may include: create mission statement; identify funding; develop plan; identify partners; develop temporary public art program; and seek out small manageable self-funded projects.

An important element of this program will be to differentiate the City of Sparks from other cities and their art programs.  The program should identify and celebrate the uniqueness of Sparks by blending our historical and industrial sides with our love of family and community-oriented events.



Commission appointments are currently available to the Arts and Culture Advisory Committee.  The membership will be defined as follows:

2 members with performing arts backgrounds:  Stephanie Farias; Dennyse Daniels

2 members with visual arts backgrounds: Eileen Gay, Melissa Melero-Moose

1 member with a humanaties background: Christina Barr

1 non-voting member assigned by the Parks and Recreation Director:  Francine Burge


Council could give other direction.

Recommended Motion:

I move to confirm the Mayor's recommendations to the Arts and Culture Advisory Committee.

Previous Item
Next Item
Return To Meeting