Sparks City Council Meeting 12/14/2020 2:00:00 PM

Meeting Link:
Meeting Dial-in #: 1-669-900-6833 Meeting ID: 98232307536

General Business: 9.2

Title: Consideration, discussion, and possible approval of the Mayor's two appointments to the Sparks Planning Commission from the following pool of applicants, listed in alphabetical order: Clara Andriola, Richard Arredondo-Ortiz, Candace Beck, Damon Harrell, Marilyn Kramer, Kelli Luchetti, Jim Morman, John Novak, Reid Petersen, Evan Pritsos, Ricci Rodriguez-Elkins, David Sousa, William Steward, Alan Stirling, Joanne Tiernan, T Tran.
Petitioner/Presenter: Neil C. Krutz, ICMA-CM, City Manager/City Manager Neil C. Krutz, ICMA-CM
Recommendation: Approve the Mayor's appointment to the Sparks Planning Commission
Financial Impact: N/A
Business Impact (Per NRS 237):
A Business Impact Statement is not required because this is not a rule.
Agenda Item Brief:

The Sparks Planning Commission has two (2) vacancies, each for a 4-year term ending December 31, 2024. Mayor Ed Lawson recommends appointments to the Planning Commission and City Council confirms them. 


The Sparks Planning Commission is a seven (7) member board whose purpose is to review and submit recommendation of approval or disapproval to the Sparks City Council on the following matters:

  1. Tentative Subdivision Maps
  2. Rezoning Cases
  3. Annexations
  4. Master Plan Amendments
  5. Title 20 Zoning Ordinance Changes
  6. Regional Plans That Concern Sparks
  7. Regional Transportation Plans

The Mayor shall appoint members to the Planning Commission. Those appointments shall be confirmed by the City Council. Commissioner terms are four (4) years, staggered,  and appointees must be Sparks residents and registered voters. The governing authority is NRS 278.010, 278.630; SMC 2.14, 17.12.



There are two vacancies on the Sparks Planning Commission, each for a 4-year term ending December 31, 2024. Announcements were made for said vacancy during the October 26th and November 9th, 2020 meetings. Mayor Ed Lawson reviewed the applications and has chosen Marilyn Kramer and Evan Pritsos to fill the vacancies. 


1. Council may approve the Mayor's appointments.

2. Council may reject the appointments and provide further direction to the Mayor and/or City Manager.

Recommended Motion:

I move to appoint Marilyn Kramer and Evan Pritsos to the Sparks Planning Commission, each for a 4-year term ending December 31, 2024.

Previous Item
Next Item
Return To Meeting