Sparks City Council Special Election Meeting 11/14/2016 2:00:00 PM

    Monday, November 14, 2016 2:00 PM
    Council Chambers, Legislative Bldg, 745 4th St., Sparks, NV

Canvass of Election Result: 5.1

Title: Canvass the vote and declare the results of the 2016 election.
Petitioner/Presenter: Steve Driscoll, City Manager/Teresa Gardner, City Clerk
Recommendation: Council to canvass the votes of the 2016 election and declare the results official.
Financial Impact: none
Business Impact (Per NRS 237):
A Business Impact Statement is not required because this is not a rule.
Agenda Item Brief:

The 2016 general election was held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and the City Council must canvass the votes and declare the results official within 10 days of the election per the City Charter Section 5.100(2).  The City of Sparks election information is as follows:

Total Voter Registration:  54,075

Total Turnout:  43,003

Early Voters:  27,662

Absentee Voters:  3,208

Election Day Voters:  12,111

Number of Early Voting Locations:  23

Number of Early Voting Locations within the City of Sparks:  5

Total Number of Election Day Polling Places:  86


Winners of the general election, per the 2016 general unofficial summary provided by the Washoe County Registrar of Voters, are:

Donald Abbott, Ward 1

Ron Smith, Ward 3

Kristopher Dahir, Ward 5


The City Attorney was unopposed for the 2016 election and is declared elected.

Chet Adams, City Attorney


On June 14, 2016 the primary election was conducted and on November 8, 2016 the general election was conducted, both by the Washoe County Registrar of Voters on behalf of the City of Sparks per the interlocal agreement (AC-5219) approved by Sparks City Council on February 8, 2016.  Pursuant to NRS 293C.110, Sparks City Council adopted Ordinance No. 2520 on February 22, 2016 providing for the conducting and holding of the 2016 primary and general elections for the offices of Council Members representing the first, third and fifth wards of the city and City Attorney in accordance with the interlocal agreement.


The City Attorney was unopposed in the 2016 election and is declared elected.  

On November 8, 2016, Washoe County held a general election to fill the offices of Council Members representing the first, third and fifth wards of the city in accordance with the interlocal agreement.  The 2016 general election unofficial final summary report from Washoe County is attached and summarized as:


Council Ward 1:

Donald Abbott, 18,666, 50.88%

Denise Lopez, 18,017, 49.12%


Council Ward 3:

John Rhoads, 12,415, 34.65%

Ron Smith, 23,411, 65.35%


Council Ward 5:

Kristopher Dahir, 18,240, 51.38%

Thomas P. Lean - withdrew

John Walter, 17,258, 48.62%



Council could declare the 2016 election results confirmed.

Council could not declare the 2016 election results confirmed.

Recommended Motion:

I move to declare the results of the 2016 election official and the winners to be Donald Abbott for Council  Ward 1, Ron Smith for Council Ward 3, Kristopher Dahir for Council Ward 5 and Chet Adams for City Attorney.

Attached Files:
     2016 Election Unofficial Summary Report.pdf
     2016 Sparks Statement of Vote.pdf
Previous Item
Next Item
Return To Meeting