Special Meeting of the Sparks City Council 6/19/2014 10:00:00 AM

    Thursday, June 19, 2014 10:00 AM
    Council Chambers, Legislative Bldg, 745 4th St., Sparks

Item Number: 3

Title: Canvass the Votes and Declare the Results of the 2014 Primary Election
Petitioner/Presenter: Teresa Gardner, City Clerk/Teresa Gardner, City Clerk
Recommendation: That the City Council canvass the votes of the 2014 Primary Election for the City of Sparks held on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 and declare the results.
Financial Impact: N/A
Business Impact (Per NRS 237):
A Business Impact Statement is not required because this is not a rule.
Agenda Item Brief:

The 2014 primary election was held on Tuesday, June 10, 2014 and the City Council must canvass the votes and declare the results within 10 days of the election per the City Charter Sec. 5.100 (2).


On June 10, 2014 the Primary Election was conducted by the Washoe County Registrar of Voters on behalf of the City of Sparks per the Interlocal Agreement (AC-5019) approved by Council on March 24, 2014. Pursuant to NRS 293C.110, Sparks City Council adopted Ordinance No. 2487 on April 14, 2014 providing for the conducting and holding the 2014 primary and general elections for the offices of Municipal Judge for Department One, Mayor and Council Members representing the second and fourth wards of the city in accordance with the Interlocal Agreement.


The 2014 primary election unofficial final summary report from Washoe County is attached. Per the Sparks City Charter Sec. 5.020 (2) The names of the two candidates who receive the highest number of votes at the primary election must be placed on the ballot for the general election. The following candidates will appear on the ballot for the general election:


Geno Martini       6,748 votes cast            76.53%

Gene Newhall     1,412 votes cast            16.01%

Council Ward 2

Ed Lawson             732 votes cast            60.25%

Ed Goodrich           269 votes cast            22.14%

Council Ward 4

Charlene Bybee  1,288 votes cast            46.46%

Kristopher Dahir    827 votes cast            29.83%

Municipal Judge for Department One

Barbara McCarthy was unopposed and not required to be on the primary ballot



Recommended Motion: I move to declare the results of the 2014 primary election.

Attached Files:
     14 Primary Sparks Mayor.pdf
     14 Primary Sparks Ward 2.pdf
     14 Primary Sparks Ward 4.pdf
     14 Primary Summary Report.pdf
Previous Item
Next Item
Return To Meeting